Institut IRE

  • » Contact
    » Team
  • Institut IRE -

    New Government of South Tyrol definitely fixed

    Provincial elections in South Tyrol 2018
    After the provincial elections in South Tyrol on Sunday, 21 October 2018, when the South Tyrolean People’s Party (SVP) lost votes and the Lega gained some, the formation of a government was rather difficult, even though a co-operation between the two parties was obvious due to the language group proportional representation system. The Italian language group must be represented to a certain extent in the provincial government in South Tyrol. As an alternative, only a minority government of the SVP remained.

    However, quite a lot separates the two parties ideologically. Many SVP officials reject the positions of the right-wing populist Lega in the areas of Europe and migration. There is also some doubt as to how serious the Lega – co-governing in Rome – is with the autonomy of South Tyrol.

    With 65 votes in favour, 11 against, seven abstentions and a heated internal debate, the SVP voted in favour of negotiations with the Lega. They referred to it as “technical cooperation” and agreed on a so-called “catalogue of values”.
    On 17 January 2019, the former Governor Arno Kompatscher (SVP) was re-elected governor for a second term with 19 of the 35 votes of the provincial parliament in favour of him.
    Kompatscher emphasized that despite his new coalition partner, he would continue to stay critical on certain points of the Roman government. He explicitly referred to the catalogue of values contained in the coalition agreement, in which both parties profess their commitment to Europe and to social peace, to protecting the German and Ladin-speaking minority, to the further development of self-government, and to oppose any new centralism, exclusion and discrimination. He also renewed his offer to cooperate with the opposition.



    On Friday, 25 January 2019, the vote on the new provincial government took place in the South Tyrolean provincial parliament. Of the 34 delegates present, 18 voted in favour of the proposal of Provincial Governor Arno Kompatscher, 16 against.

    photo: LPA/Oskar Verant

    The provincial government consists of nine members:

    •    Arno Kompatscher (SVP), Provincial Governor with responsibility for foreign relations, Europe, municipalities, finance, human resources and information technology, university, research, innovation, museums and sport.
    •    Arnold Schuler (SVP), first Vice Governor, responsible for agriculture and forestry, civil defence and tourism.
    •    Giuliano Vettorato (Lega), second Vice Governor, responsible for Italian Education and Culture, Energy and Environment.
    •    Daniel Alfreider (SVP), third Vice Governor, responsible for Ladin Education and Culture, Transport Network and Mobility.
    •    Philipp Achammer (SVP), Provincial Councillor for German Education and Culture, Industry, Crafts, Trade and Services, Labor, Integration.
    •    Massimo Bessone (Lega) Provincial Councillor for Building Construction, Technical Service, Property, Land Registry, Cadastre.
    •    Waltraud Deeg (SVP) Provincial Councillor for Social Affairs, Housing, Family and Senior Citizens.
    •    Maria Hochgruber-Kuenzer (SVP) Provincial Councillor for Spatial Planning, Landscape Protection and Monument Protection.
    •    Thomas Widmann (SVP) Provincial Council for Health, Digital Infrastructure and Cooperative Systems.

    Josef Noggler was proposed for the Office of the President of the Provincial Parliament by the SVP, the Greens nominated Paul Köllensperger. In a secret ballot, 19 votes were cast on Josef Noggler and 15 votes on Paul Köllensperger. Rita Mattei (Italian language group) and Manfred Vallazza (Ladin language group) were elected Vice-Presidents.


    Category: Uncategorized
    Copyright © 2018 Institute of the Regions of Europe